There are lots of fun things to do on the Island of Oahu.

We have great beaches all over the island. Kailua Beach and Park & Lanikai Beach are walking distance from our cottages and homes. Both beaches were previously rated number 1 in the U.S. by Dr. Beach and have fine powder white sand.

Some of the best snorkeling in the world is at Hanauma Bay Nature Park (808-396-4229) https://hanaumabaystatepark.com

Famous for outstanding surfing, the Banzai Pipeline and Sunset Beach Park on the North Shore are two of the most famous breaks.

A must see is the Diamond Head Crater. Well known as the most famous volcanic crater in the world. Diamond Head is located on the Southeast Coast of O’ahu at the end of Waikiki overlooking the Pacific Ocean. There are panoramic views of the ocean from the top of the crater. The Diamond Head Trail is 1 ¾ miles to the rim and takes about a 1 ½ hours to hike. (808-587-0300) http://dlnr.hawaii.gov/dsp/parks/oahu/diamond-head-state-monument/

sand-castle-made-on-kailua-beach

Sandcastle courtesy of the Garrison and Wartman Families

The Byodo-In Buddhist Temple is located at 47-200 Kahekili Highway in the Valley of the Temples. This beautiful Buddhist temple is a replica of the 900-year-old Byodo-In located in Uji, Japan. It is located in one of the most peaceful locations in O’ahu – the Valley of the Temples. (808-239-8811) http://www.byodo-in.com/

 

The Pearl Harbor Historical sites include the:

USS Arizona Memorial (808-422-3399) https://pearlharbor.org/

USS Missouri “Mighty Mo” (808-455-1600) https://ussmissouri.org/

Pacific Aviation Museum (808-441-1000) https://www.pacificaviationmuseum.org/ 

USS Bowfin submarine (808-423-1341) https://www.bowfin.org/

 

Museums:

Bishop Museum (808-847-3511) https://www.bishopmuseum.org/ 

Hawaii Children’s Discovery Center (808-524-5400) http://www.discoverycenterhawaii.org/

Hawaii State Art Museum (808-586-0300) http://sfca.hawaii.gov/hisam/visitor-information/

Honolulu Academy of Arts and Doris Duke’s Shangrila (808-532-8700) http://honolulumuseum.org/

Iolani Palace (808-522-0822) https://www.iolanipalace.org/

Mission Houses Museum (808-447-3910) https://missionhouses.org/

Queen Emma Summer Palace (808-595-3167) http://daughtersofhawaii.org/

Hawaii Plantation Village Museum (808-677-0110) http://hawaiiplantationvillage.org/

 

At the Dole Plantation you can learn about the different varieties of pineapples and their cultivation in the islands. Enjoy a train ride, a refreshing dole whip treat, and browse the large gift shop. (808-621-8408)  https://www.doleplantation.com/

 

If you enjoy gardens:

Foster Botanical Gardens (808-522-7065) http://www.honolulu.gov/parks/hbg.html

Hoomaluhia Botanical Garden (808-233-7323) http://www.honolulu.gov/parks/hbg.html

Koko Crater Botanical Gardens (808-522-7066) http://www.honolulu.gov/parks/hbg.html

Senator Fong’s Plantation and Gardens (808-239-6775) https://www.facebook.com/Senator-Fongs-Plantation-and-Gardens-115881771767104/

 

For adventure:

Naish Hawaii-beach gear rentals (808-262-6068). http://www.naish.com/

Kailua Sailboards and Kayaks (808-262-2555) https://www.kailuasailboards.com/

Hawaiian Railway Society-take a ride on a real steam train (808-681-5461) http://www.hawaiianrailway.com/

Wet’n’wild Hawaii-water park (808-674-9283) https://www.wetnwildhawaii.com/

Kualoa Ranch and Activities-horseback riding, ATVs, etc. (808-237-7321) https://www.kualoa.com/

Honolulu Zoo (808-971-7171) https://honoluluzoo.org/

Polynesian Cultural Center (808-293-3333) https://www.polynesia.com/

Sea Life Park (808-259-2500) https://www.sealifeparkhawaii.com/

Waikiki Aquarium (808-923-9741) http://www.waikikiaquarium.org/

Waimea Valley (808-638-5870) https://www.waimeavalley.net/

 

Shopping:

Aloha Stadium Swap Meet on Wednesdays, Saturdays, and Sundays

Kailua Farmer’s Markets on Thursday morning (parking lot behind the fire station), Thursday evening (parking lot behind Long’s Drugs), and Sunday morning (Kailua Elementary School). 

Ala Moana Shopping Center

Windward Mall

Ross Stores (there are numerous locations on the island)

Waikele Outlet Stores

 

Luaus:

Chief’s Luau (808-674-1075) http://www.chiefsluau.com/

Paradise Cove (808-842-5911) https://www.paradisecove.com/

Germaine’s Luau (808-425-9166) https://www.germainesluau.com/

Ka Moana at Sea Life Park (808-259-2500) https://www.sealifeparkhawaii.com/things-to-do/luau

 

There are fabulous restaraunts in Kailua located within walking distance from many of our cottages and homes

Moke’s Bread and Breakfast (808-261-5565)-closed Tuesdays http://www.mokeskailua.com/

Buzz’s Original Steak House (808-261-4661) http://www.buzzsoriginalsteakhouse.com/

Big City Diner (808-263-8880) http://bigcitydinerhawaii.com/

Assaggio’s (808-261-2772) http://assaggiohawaii.com/

Nico’s Kailua-for seafood (808-263-3787) http://nicoskailua.com/

Cinnamon’s (808-261-8724) http://www.cinnamonsrestaurant.com/

Los Garcias (808-261-0306)

Teddy’s Bigger Burgers (808-262-0820) https://www.teddysbb.com/

Crepes No Ka Oi (808-263-4088) http://www.crepesnokaoi.com/